[Date Prev][Date Next][Thread Prev][Thread Next][Date Index][Thread Index]

[PVS] Call for papers (UTP 2010)


                                           UTP 2010

                The 3rd International Symposium on Unifying Theories of Programming


    co-located with the 12th International Conference on Formal Engineering Methods (ICFEM 2010)


                                  ***  Call For Papers  ***


                                       Shanghai, China

                                    15-16 November, 2010





Following on the success of UTP 2006 (County Durham, UK) and UTP 2008 (Dublin, Ireland),

we are pleased to announce the UTP 2010 symposium, to be held in Shanghai, China in

November 2010, co-located with ICFEM 2010, the 12th International Conference on

Formal Engineering Methods.


Based on the pioneering work on Unifying Theories of Programming by Tony Hoare, He Jifeng

and others, the aims of the UTP Symposium series are to continue to reaffirm the significance

of the ongoing UTP project, to encourage efforts to advance it by providing a focus for

the sharing of results by those already actively contributing, and to raise awareness of

the benefits of such unifying theoretical frameworks among the wider computer science

and software engineering communities.


Of particular interest is how unification may be used to meet the goals and difficulties

to be encountered in the Grand Challenges of Computing, with particular reference to

the UK's "GC6: Dependable Systems Evolution" and its international cousin the "Verified

Software Initiative" and their shared goal of developing a Verified Software Repository.


To this end the UTP 2010 symposium welcomes contributions on the above themes as well as

others which can be related to them. Such additional themes include, but are not limited to,

relational semantics, relational algebra, healthiness conditions, normal forms,

linkage of theories, algebraic descriptions, incorporation of probabilistic programming,

timed calculi and object-based descriptions, as well as alternative programming paradigms

such as functional, logical, data-flow, and beyond. In all cases, the UTP approach should

be compared and advantages/disadvantages discussed.


Accepted papers will be published in the symposium proceedings by Springer as a volume of

the Lecture Notes in Computer Sciences. It is also planned to have a special journal issue

of Formal Aspects of Computing for revised/extended versions of selected best papers from

the UTP 2010 symposium.


Papers should be written in English not exceeding 20 pages in LNCS format

(http://www.springer.de/comp/lncs/authors.html). Submission will be via the web-based

easychair system.


Important Dates


Abstract submission deadline: 4th June, 2010

Full-paper submission deadline: 11th June, 2010

Author notification: 30th July, 2010

Final version due: 13th August, 2010

Symposium:  15-16th November, 2010


Program Committee


Bernhard K. Aichernig, Graz University of Technology, Austria

Hugh Anderson, National University of Singapore, Singapore

Phil Brooke, University of Teesside, UK

Andrew Butterfield, Trinity College Dublin, Ireland

Ana Cavalcanti,           University of York, UK

Yifeng Chen, Peking University, China

Deepak D'Souza, IISC, India

Steve Dunne, University of Teesside, UK

Colin Fidge, Queensland University of Technology, Australia

Jeremy Gibbons, University of Oxford, UK

Lindsay Groves,           Victoria University of Wellington, New Zealand

Will Harwood, University of York, UK

Ian Hayes, University of Queensland, Australia

Arthur Hughes, Trinity College Dublin, Ireland

Jeremy Jacob, University of York, UK

Xiaoshan Li, University of Macao, Macao SAR, China  

Zhiming Liu, UNU/IIST, Macao SAR, China

Annabelle McIver, Macquarie University, Australia

David Naumann, Stevens Institute of Technology, USA

Geguang Pu, East China Normal University, China

Shengchao Qin (chair),  Durham University, UK

Zongyan Qiu, Peking University, China

Bill Stoddart, University of Teesside, UK

Jun Sun, National University of Singapore, Singapore

Meng Sun, CWI, the Netherlands

Naijun Zhan, Institute of Software, CAS, China

Huibiao Zhu, East China Normal University, China