[Date Prev][Date Next][Thread Prev][Thread Next][Date Index][Thread Index]

[PVS] [CSE-conferences] CFP: ACM NOSSDAV 2009 --- Submission site is up

[Apologies if you receive this more than once]

           === [     ACM NOSSDAV 2009    ] ===

           The 19th International Workshop on
             Network and Operating Systems
           Support for Digital Audio and Video

                  Williamsburg, Virginia
                    June 3-5, 2009


                    SPONSORED BY:
                     ACM SIGMM
                in cooperation with
             ACM SIGCOMM and ACM SIGOPS

* Important Dates

    Paper Deadline:   9 February, 2009
    Notification:    20 March, 2009
    Camera Ready:     6 April, 2009


NOSSDAV 2009 will continue the workshop's long tradition of focusing
on emerging topics, controversial ideas, and future research
directions in the area of multimedia systems research, held in a
setting that stimulates lively discussions among the senior and junior

It is also an established practice for NOSSDAV to encourage
experimental research based on real systems and data sets. Public
availability of source code and data sets is highly encouraged.

The scope of NOSSDAV has evolved over the years. For NOSSDAV 2009, we
would like especially highlight two new topics of interest:
unconventional use of GPU for multimedia and multi-core processors
support for multimedia. NOSSDAV 2009 continues to welcome submissions
in the traditional topics of networked multimedia systems, operating
system support for multimedia, and multimedia security and rights

The topics of interest include, but are not limited to:

   * OS, middleware and network support for multimedia
   * Overlay networks for multimedia
   * Media streaming, distribution and storage
   * Web 2.0 systems and social networks for multimedia
   * Wireless and mobile multimedia systems
   * Media sensor and ad hoc networks
   * Grid/cloud computing support for multimedia
   * Embedded systems for multimedia
   * Multicore architecture support for multimedia
   * GPU for multimedia
   * Network processor support for multimedia
   * Tele-immersion and mixed-reality systems
   * Networked graphics and virtual environments
   * Networked games
   * Multimedia communications and system security
   * Digital rights management

A broad view will be taken in deciding what topics are within scope.
Please contact the workshop co-chairs if you are unsure and wish to
check if a particular topic is within the scope of NOSSDAV.

Submissions should be at most SIX pages in length using standard ACM
proceedings style. We expect these submissions to be the kernel of
what will eventually lead to full-length papers at high-quality
conferences or journals.

Authors of selected, high quality papers from NOSSDAV 2009 will be
invited to submit an extended version of their papers to a special
issue of ACM/Springer Multimedia Systems Journal (MMSJ).


Workshop Co-Chairs

      Dongyan Xu, Purdue University, USA
      Wei Tsang Ooi, National University of Singapore

Local Arrangement Chair

      Ketan Mayer-Patel, UNC Chapel Hill, USA

Publicity Co-Chairs

      Tristan  Henderson, University of St. Andrews, UK
      Kang Li, University of Georgia, USA
      Kuan-Ta Chen, Academia Sinica, Taiwan

Technical Program Committee

      Kevin Almeroth, UC Santa Barbara, USA
      Grenville Armitage, Swinburne U. of Tech, Australia
      Ernst Biersack, Institute Eurecom, France
      Surendar Chandra, University of Notre Dame, USA
      Kuan-Ta Chen, Academia Sinica, Taiwan
      Songqing Chen, George Mason University, USA
      Mark Claypool, WPI, USA
      Wu-chang Feng, Portland State University, USA
      Wu-chi Feng, Portland State University, USA
      Romulus Grigoras, IRIT-Toulouse, France
      Carsten Griwodz, University of Oslo, Norway
      Pal Halvorsen, University of Oslo, Norway
      JongWon Kim, GIST, Korea
      Baochun Li, University of Toronto, Canada
      Kang Li, University of Georgia, USA
      Yong Liu, Polytechnic University, USA
      Andreas Mauthe, Lancaster University, UK
      Klara Nahrstedt, UIUC, USA
      Ketan Mayer-Patel, UNC Chapel Hill, USA
      Cristina Nita-Rotaru, Purdue University, USA
      Sanjay Rao, Purdue University, USA
      Reza Rejaie, University of Oregon, USA
      Karsten Schwan, Georgia Tech, USA
      Henning Schulzrinne, Columbia University, USA
      Prashant Shenoy, UMass, Amherst
      Shervin Shirmohammadi, University of Ottawa, Canada
      Ralf Steinmetz, TU Darmstadt, Germany
      Lars Wolf, TU Braunschweig, Germany
      Zhenyu Yang, Florida International University, USA
      Roger Zimmermann, National University of Singapore

CSE-conferences mailing list