[Date Prev][Date Next][Thread Prev][Thread Next][Date Index][Thread Index]

[PVS] CFP IEEE/ACM* IWCMC 2009 - Cross-Layer Optimized Wireless Networks Symposium

Call for Papers

International Conference on Wireless Communications and Mobile Computing, 
21-24 June, 2009, Leipzig, Germany, http://iwcmc.com/

"Cross-Layer Optimized Wireless Networks Symposium"

Symposium Background
The explosive increasing in wireless packet-data applications, such as 
wireless web browsing, real-time mobile multimedia streaming, and interactive 
applications motivates the rapid development of the next-generation mobile 
wireless networks. The associated communication channels and traffic patterns 
in mobile wireless networks are more unpredictable than the traditional 
wire-line networks. On the other hand, the future multimedia applications 
impose stringent and diverse Quality of Service (QoS) requirements, which 
cannot be satisfactorily addressed through the traditional layering 
network-protocol architecture. Correspondingly, a cross-layer design paradigm 
would be needed to achieve transmission protocol stack performance while 
meeting these new challenges in QoS requirements. The cross-layer designs and 
protocols tend to be very essential approaches for the mobile wireless and ad 
hoc networks where unpredictable variables such as node mobility, node 
density, network dimensions make the diverse and stringent wireless QoS 
requirements even harder to satisfy. Cross-layer designs and protocols are 
the emerging research areas where some early results have recently been 
reported in the literatures, but the upcoming new applications and more 
stringent/diverse wireless QoS requirements open even more new opportunities 
for many interesting and comprehensive research topics targeting at concepts, 
methodologies, and techniques to support the future advanced mobile wireless 
applications. Clearly, the developments of the new schemes, mechanisms, and 
systems associated with the cross-layer designs and protocols will have a 
significant impact on the next generation of mobile wireless communications 
and networks.
Scope of Contributions
The focuses of the papers to be published in the Cross-Layer Optimized 
Wireless Networks Symposium of IWCMC 2009 will concentrate on 
state-of-the-art research in various aspects of cross-layer designs and 
protocols for next-generation mobile wireless communications networks. We 
solicit the original papers covering various topics of interest that include, 
but are not limited to:
Methodologies for cross-layer protocol design in mobile wireless networks 
Cross-layer error and delay control 
Cross-Layer optimization for energy, network lifetime, and capacity 
Complexity and scalability issues in cross-layer design 
Physical layer information for medium access control and radio link control 
Signaling for cross-layer protocol interaction 
QoS and radio resource management in layered networks 
Channel access algorithms for cross-layered wireless communication networks 
Performance optimization for cross-layer design of wireless network 
Cross-Layer optimized routing wireless networks 
Software defined radio and dynamic wireless networks 
Architectures issues for cross-layer protocol design in mobile wireless 
Cross-Layer design issues for quality of service provisioning in wireless 
Signal processing for cross-layer design 
Cross-layer strategies in wireless sensor and actuator networks 
Interactions between routing/mobility management and congestion control 
Application layer adaptation based on cross-layer notifications 
Design, implementation and test-bed/experimental results 
Overview/survey of the special undergoing/planned projects 
Standardization issues and status reports from various standards organizations 

Submission Guidelines

The International Cross-Layer Optimized Wireless Networks Symposium within 
IWCMC 2009 is soliciting original and high-quality papers describing 
state-of-the art research and development in the areas of cross-layer designs 
and protocols over mobile wireless networks. Prospective authors are invited 
to submit original technical papers in 6 pages standard IEEE proceedings, 
two-column, 10 pt font, etc format. 

Accepted papers will be included in ACM/IEEE Digital Library (pending 
approval) and selected papers will be further considered for publication in 
one of two special issues of the Wiley Journal of “Wireless Communications 
and Mobile Computing (WCMC),” and International Journal of Autonomous and 
Adaptive Communications Systems (IJAACS).” There will also be best paper and 
best symposium awards. 
http://www3.interscience.wiley.com/journal/76507157/home & 
Submission of a paper should be regarded as an undertaking that, should the 
paper be accepted, at least one of the authors will register for the 
conference and present the work. Submissions will be conducted electronically 
on the conference website: http://edas.info/newPaper.php?c=6827&;.

Important Dates
Paper Submission Deadline:               20 Jan. 2009
Paper Acceptance Notification:          25 Mar. 2009
Camera-ready Paper Submissions:     15 Apr. 2009
Registration Deadline for Authors:     15 Apr. 2009
Symposium Date:                                21-24 Jun. 2009

Symposium Chair
Thomas Michael Bohnert, SAP Research, CH, thomas.michael.bohnert@xxxxxxx

Symposium Co-Chairs

Edmundo Monteiro, University of Coimbra, PT, edmundo@xxxxxxxxx 
Lingyang Song, Philips research labs, UK, lingyang.song@xxxxxxxxxxx
Baoxian Zhang, Chinese Academy of Sciences, CN, bxzhang@xxxxxxxxxxx
 Technical Program Committee
Ralf Ackermann, SAP Research, DE
Yacine Belala, SAP Research, CA
Torsten Braun, University of Bern, DE
Jun Cai, University of Manitoba, CA
Ulrich Flegel, SAP Research, DE
Gabor Fodor, Ericsson Research, SE
Giovanni Giambene, University of Siena, IT
David Grace, University of York, UK
Hai Jiang, University of Alberta, CA
Stamatis Karnouskos, SAP Research, DE
Andreas J. Kassler, Karlstad University, SE
Marcos Katz, VTT Technical Research Centre, FI
Yevgeni Koucheryavy, Tampere University of Technology, FI
Geng-Sheng Kuo, National Chengchi University, TW
Tae-Jin Lee, Sungkyunkwan University, KR
Supeng Leng, University of Electronic Science and Technology, CN
Xinrong Li, University of North Texas, USA
Bo Li, Northwestern Polytechnic University, CN
Pascal Lorenz, University of Haute Alsace, France
Kejie Lu, University of Puerto Rico at Mayaguez, USA
Maode Ma, Nanyang Technological University, SG
Mike MacGregor, University of Alberta, CA
Natarajan Meghanathan, Jackson State University, USA
Vojislav Misic, University of Manitoba, CA
Xavier Perez-Costa, NEC Network Laboratories, NEC Europe Ltd. , DE
Petar Popovski, Aalborg University, DN
Fengyuan Ren, Tsinghua University, CN
Rainer Sauerwein, Siemens Corporate Technology, DE
Harkirat Singh, Samsung Electronics, USA
Thomas Springer, Technische Universität Dresden, DE
Dirk Stähle, University of Wuerzburg, DE
Burkhard Stiller, University of Zürich and ETH Zürich, CH
Vasos Vassiliou, University of Cyprus, CY
Maria-Angeles Vazquez-Castro, Universidad Autónoma de Barcelona, ES
Xinbing Wang, Shanghai Jiaotong University, CN
Jianfeng Wang, Philips Research, USA
Wenye Wang, NC State University, USA
Rong Yu, South CN University of Technology, CN
Burkhard Stiller, University of Zurich, CH