[Date Prev][Date Next][Thread Prev][Thread Next][Date Index][Thread Index]

[PVS] CFP: ACM/IET/ICST International Workshop on Performance and Analysis of Wireless Networks


Apologies if you receive multiple copies of this Call for Papers



Paper submission deadline: June 1, 2008 (firm deadline)


ACM/IET/ICST International Workshop on Performance and Analysis of Wireless Networks




Held in conjunction with The International Conference on Mobile Technology, Applications,and Systems (Mobility 2008),Ilan, TAIWAN September 10-12, 2008 http://www.mobilityconference.org/


KEYNOTE ADDRESS: "Complementary Coded Cooperative Wireless Networking"


Presented by: Professor Hsiao-Hwa Chen,National Cheng Kung University, Taiwan



Wireless communication technologies have been evolving at a rapid pace over the last few decades. Different types of wireless communication networks (BAN, PAN, LAN, etc) are being deployed to address the needs of all kinds of users. Evaluating the performance of wireless networks and systems continues to be a critical activity in the design, implementation, and deployment of emerging wireless technologies.

This workshop is intended to provide an international forum for scientists, engineers, practitioners, network users to share their experiences, present original ideas, report on state-of-the-art and in-progress research results on the empirical performance of wireless communication technologies and applications.


In contrast to many past and current workshops also covering the topic of wireless networks, this event places special emphasis on empirical performance results obtained on actual, physical wireless network infrastructures, testbeds, networked hosts, and devices.  Performance results obtained using only modeling, theoretical analysis or simulators without a strong practical performance component are not appropriate for this workshop.  We particularly welcome submissions that present experimental performance evaluations of innovative wireless design/implementation prototype architectures, systems, and applications. We hope that the contributions to this workshop will help us better understand many of the practical performance related issues that are likely to impact next generation wireless networks, technologies, and applications.


Topics of interest, but are not limited to:



* Performance of wireless media access protocols

* Performance of mobility protocols and architectures

* Performance of mobility management protocols and architectures

* Performance of wireless local area networks, personal area networks

* Performance of broadband wireless access technologies (WiMAX, etc)

* Performance of 3G/4G networks, systems, and protocols

* Performance of sensor networks and devices

* Performance of heterogeneous wireless networks

* Performance of wireless security protocols

* Performance of wireless communication protocols

* Performance of admission control protocols over wireless networks

* Performance optimizations and tuning over wireless networks

* Performance of heterogeneous wired/wireless network testbeds

* Performance of wireless applications

* Performance measurement tools and techniques for wireless networks


International Committee



General Chair



Bharat Bhargava, Purdue University, USA


Technical Program Co-Chairs



Sherali Zeadally, University of the District of Columbia, USA Abdelhamid Mellouk, University of Paris XII, France


Technical Program Committee



Saleem Bhatti, St Andrew’s University, UK

Mauro Biagi, University of Rome "La Sapienza", Italy

Subir Biswas, Michigan State University, USA

Luciano Bononi, University of Bologna, Italy

Ling Teck Chaw, University of Malaya, Malaysia

Ing-Yi Chen, National Taipei University of Technology, Taiwan

Carla-Fabiana Chiasserin, Politecnico di Torino, Italy

Naveen  Chilamkurti, La Trobe University, Australia

Hesham El-Sayed, United Arab Emirates University, UAE

Scott Fowler, Aston University, UK

Ray Hunt, University of Canterbury, New Zealand

Min-Shiang Hwang, National Chung Hsing University, Taiwan

Arshad Jhumka, University of Warwick, UK

Polychronis Koutsakis, McMaster University, Canada

Bjorn Landfeldt, University of Sydney, Australia

Peter Langendoerfer, IHP-Microelectronics, Germany

Leslek Lilien, Western Michigan University, USA

Luis Loyola, DoCoMo Euro Laboratories, Germany

Teck Meng Lim, StarHub Ltd, Singapore

Kami Makki, University of Toledo, USA

Peter Mueller, IBM Zurich Research Laboratory, Switzerland

Farid Nait-Abdesselam, University of Sciences & Technologies of Lille, France

Sotiris Nikoletseas, University of Patras and CTI, Greece

Ertan Öztürk, Zonguldak Karaelmas University, Turkey

Ioan Raicu, University of Chicago, USA

Bernd Steinke, Nokia Research, Germany

Nicolas Sklavos, University of Patras, Greece

Jesús Téllez, University de Carabobo, Venezuela

Thanos Vasilakos, University of Western Macedonia, Greece

Bin Wei, AT&T Research, USA

Jiang (Linda) Xie, University of North Carolina at Charlotte, USA

Lu Yan, University College London, UK

Peng Yang, Hitachi (China) R&D Corporation, China

Hsu-Chun Yen, National Taiwan University, Taiwan


Publicity Co-Chairs



Michael Sheng, University of Adelaide, Australia Elias Tragos, National University of Athens, Greece


Important Dates



Paper submission deadline: June 1, 2008

Notification date: July 1, 2008

Camera-ready version due: August 1, 2008


Author Instructions



Prospective authors are encouraged to submit full papers describing original, previously unpublished, complete research, not currently under review by another conference or journal, addressing state-of-the-art research and development in all areas of performance and analysis of wireless communication technologies, systems, and networks. Please use the ACM SIG paper format (http://www.acm.org/sigs/pubs/proceed/template.html).

Submissions must not exceed 6 pages in PDF, including tables and figures.

Submission of a paper implies that, should the paper be accepted, at least one of the authors will register and present the paper at the conference.


Please submit papers directly to one of the Co-Chairs, Sherali Zeadally (email: szeadally@xxxxxxx) or Abdelhamid Mellouk (email: mellouk@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx) with "IWPAWN 2008 paper submission" in the subject line of the email.

Each submission must be accompanied by the following information: the paper title, a short abstract, a complete list of authors and their affiliations, and the contact of the corresponding author.





Accepted papers will be published by ACM Press, included in the ACM Digital Library and indexed by EI. The proceedings of the workshop will be available at the conference. At least one author (or co-author) of an accepted paper must register for the conference for it to be included in the conference proceedings. Extended versions of selected papers will be considered for further publication in a Special issue of an International Journal planned shortly after the workshop.


Best Paper Award



One best paper award, selected by the organizing committee, based on referee reviews, will be presented to the author(s) of the best paper submitted to the workshop.