[Date Prev][Date Next][Thread Prev][Thread Next][Date Index][Thread Index]

[PVS] SPIN 2008: Final Call for Papers

               Final Call for Papers: SPIN 2008

  15th Int. SPIN Workshop on Model Checking of Software
                      August 10-12, 2008
                  University of California

                    Los Angeles, USA


  Aim and Scope:

  The SPIN workshop is a forum for practitioners and researchers
  interested in state space-based techniques for the validation and
  analysis of software systems. Theoretical techniques and empirical
  evaluations based on explicit representations of state spaces, as
  implemented in the SPIN model checker or other tools, or techniques
  based on combination of explicit representations with other
  representations, are the focus of this workshop.

  We particularly welcome papers describing the development and
  application of state space exploration techniques in testing and
  verifying security-critical software, enterprise and web applications,
  embedded software, and other interesting software platforms. The
  workshop aims to encourage interactions and exchanges of ideas with all
  related areas in software engineering.

  Invited speakers:

  - Matthew Dwyer (University of Nebraska)
  - Daniel Jackson (MIT)
  - Shaz Qadeer (Microsoft Research)
  - Wolfram Schulte (Microsoft Research)
  - Yannis Smaragdakis (University of Oregon)

  Important Dates and Deadlines:

  Deadline for submission of full papers: April 2, 2008
  Notification of acceptance/rejection: May 10, 2008.
  Deadline for final version of accepted papers: May 28, 2008.
  Workshop: August 10-12, 2008.

  Topics of Interest:

  - Algorithms and storage methods for explicit state model checking
  - Directed model checking using heuristics
  - Parallel or distributed model checking using multi-core or
 multiple computers
  - Techniques for dealing with infinite state spaces
  - Model checking of timed and probabilistic systems
  - Abstraction and the use of static analysis to reduce state spaces
  - Combinations of enumerative and symbolic techniques
  - Analysis for modeling languages, including SE languages (UML,...)
  - New property specification languages, including new forms of temporal logic
  - Model checking of programming languages and code analysis
  - Automated testing using model checking techniques
  - Derivation of invariants, test cases, or other useful information
  from state spaces
  - Combination of model-checking techniques with other analysis techniques
  - Modularity and compositionality
  - Comparative studies, including to other model checking techniques
  - Case studies of interesting systems or with interesting results
  - Theoretical and algorithmic foundations of model-checking based analysis
  - Engineering and implementation of model-checking tools and platforms
  - Insightful surveys or historical accounts on topics of relevance to
  SPIN workshops

  Solicited Contributions:

  With the exception of survey and history papers, the papers should
  contain original work which has not been submitted or accepted for
  publication elsewhere. Submissions should adhere to the LNCS format. We
  solicit two kinds of papers:

  1. Technical Papers.  No longer than 18 pages in LNCS format. All
  accepted technical papers will be included in the proceedings.

  2. Tool Presentations. This kind of submissions should consist of two
  parts. The first part is at most 5 page description of the tool. If
  accepted, this part will be published in the workshop proceedings. The
  second part should describe an informal plan for an oral presentation of
  the tool. This part will not be included in the proceedings.

  The proceedings of SPIN usually appear in Springer's Lecture Notes in
  Computer Science series. We expect to continue this tradition for
  the 2008 edition.


  General Chair:

  Jens Palsberg (UC Los Angeles, USA)

  Programme Chairs:

  Klaus Havelund (NASA JPL/Caltech., USA)
  Rupak Majumdar (UC Los Angeles, USA)

  Programme Committee:

  Christel Baier  (Bonn, Germany)
  Dragan Bosnacki (Eindhoven, Netherlands)
  Lubos Brim (Brno, Czech)
  Stefan Edelkamp (Dortmund, Germany)
  Dawson Engler (Stanford, USA)
  Kousha Etessami (Edinburgh, UK)
  Susanne Graf (Verimag, France)
  John Hatcliff (Kansas State Univ., USA)
  Gerard Holzmann (NASA JPL, USA)
  Franjo Ivancic (NEC, USA)
  Sarfraz Khurshid (UT Austin, USA)
  Kim Larsen (Aalborg, Denmark)
  Madan Musuvathi (Microsoft, USA)
  Joel Ouaknine (Oxford, UK)
  Corina Pasareanu (NASA Ames, USA)
  Doron Peled (Warwick, UK)
  Paul Pettersson (Malardalen, Sweden)
  Koushik Sen (Berkeley, USA)
  Natasha Sharygina (Lugano, Switzerland)
  Eran Yahav (IBM, USA)