[Date Prev][Date Next][Thread Prev][Thread Next][Date Index][Thread Index]

[PVS] CFP - 1st International Workshop on FUTURE MULTIMEDIANETWORKING =?utf-8?b?KEZNTsK0MDgpLA==?= IEEE Co-Sponsorship

Dear colleague,

Please accept our apologies if you receive multiple copies of the same






1st International Workshop on



2008 September 17, Cardiff, Wales, UK

Co-sponsored by IEEE UKRI Computer Chapter


Collocated with IEEE NGMAST 2008 (http://www.ngmast.com/)





Real-time multimedia services are contributing to enhance our life experience
and are expected to be among the most important applications in future
generation networks. The management of real-time multimedia services is an
important key to attract and keep customers, while increasing profits to
content providers. The efficient delivery and deployment of real-time
multimedia services over emerging diverse and heterogeneous wired and wireless
systems is a challenging research objective. The interoperability of
applications, transport and network protocols, as well as, the demand for
improved Quality of Service (QoS) and user experience, and seamless mobility
control creates a challenging study field and also possibilities for research
of novel communication protocols, architectures and methods towards Future
Multimedia Networking Systems.


The objective of the Future Multimedia Networking (FMN´08) workshop is to
discuss state-of-the-art research and developing activities contributing to
aspects of multimedia systems, and networking. We are inviting both theoretical
and experimental papers as well as work-in-progress research. Topics of
interest include, but are not limited to:


- Multimedia management in next generation networks

- Content delivery networks

- Audio-visual systems

- Novel protocol for multimedia services

- Grid networking for multimedia services

- Multimedia in personal, sensor and ad-hoc networks

- Multimedia in peer-to-peer networks

- Quality of service management in multimedia networks

- Management of service oriented architectures

- Seamless mobility of multimedia services

- Novel multimedia architectures/platforms

- Multicast and broadcast multimedia service management

- IP multimedia system operations and management

- Resource reservation for multimedia services

- Multimedia in mobile and broadband wireless access networks

- Experiments/lessons from recent deployments

- Performance evaluation of multimedia services

- Network measurement/monitoring for multimedia services

- Pricing, accounting and billing for multimedia services

-Reliability, availability, serviceability of multimedia services


Special Issue Journal Publication: Best papers of the workshop will be
considered for publication in a Special Issue of International Journal of
Internet Protocol Technology (IJIPT).




Full papers reporting original and unpublished research results on FMN´08
topics are solicited. Submissions must not be under consideration for
publication elsewhere while being evaluated for this conference.

- Formatting: The proceedings will be published by the prestigious IEEE
Computer Society Press. Submissions must be in IEEE two-column format and must
not exceed 6 pages, including figures, tables and references. The cover page
should contain title, author names, affiliations, and email addresses. Please
indicate clearly the corresponding author. Include up to five keywords from the
above list and an abstract of no more than 300 words.

- How to submit: The paper submission for FMN´08 will only be accepted through
the EDAS Paper Submission System accessible from the link on the website. Only
papers in PDF will be accepted for reviewing. Submissions as e-mail attachment
will not be accepted.


To register or submit a paper click on http://edas.info/6285


- Reviewing: Consistent with standard practice, each submitted paper will
receive rigorous peer reviewing. Papers will be selected based on their
originality, timeliness, significance, relevance and clarity of presentation.
Selection will be based on full papers. All accepted papers of the conference
are expected to be presented and will be included in the conference




Submission deadline:      2008 / April / 28

Acceptance notification:  2008 / June / 01

Camera ready:             2008 / June / 20





General Chair

Eduardo Cerqueira, University of Coimbra, Portugal - ecoelho (at) dei (.) uc
(.) pt

General Co-chair

Thomas Michael Bohnert, Siemens CT, Germany - thomas.bohnert (at) siemens (.)

TPC Chair

Fernando Boavida, University of Coimbra, Portugal - boavida (at) dei (.) uc (.)



Parag Mogre, Technical University of Darmstadt, Germany

Sherali Zeadally, University of the District of Columbia, USA

Edmundo Monteiro, University of Coimbra, Portugal

Saverio Mascolo, Politecnico di Bari, Italy

Dmitri Moltchanov, Tampere University of Technology, Finland

Luciano Bononi, University of Bologna, Italy

Antônio Jorge Abelém, Federal University of Para, Brazil

Eng Keong Lua, NTT Service Integration Laboratories, Japan

Luigi Iannone, Universite Catholique de Louvain, Belgium

Petros Belimpasakis, Nokia Reseach Center, Finland

Rosario Garroppo, University of Pisa, Italy

Marília Curado, University of Coimbra, Portugal

Fernando Kuipers, Delft University of Technology, The Netherlands

Edmundo Madeira, University of Campinas, Brazil

Matti Siekkinen, University of Olso, Norway

Andreas Mauthe, University of Lancaster, United Kingdom

Artur Ziviani, National Laboratory for Scientific Computing, Brazil

Alexey Vinel, Saint-Petersburg State University of Information Technologies,
Mechanics and Optics, Russia

Ralf Schmitz, Zühlke Engineering GmbH, Germany

Bilhanan Silverajan, Tampere University of Technology, Finland

Shiqiang Yang, Tsinghua University, PRC

Pedro Neves, Portugal Telecom Inovacao, Portugal

Nicola Ciulli, NeXtworks S.r.l., Italy

Andreas Kassler, Karlstad University, Sweden

Matthias Scheffel, Siemens CT, Germany

Guome Zhu, Georgia Institute of Technology, USA

Luis Veloso, University of Coimbra, Porutgal

Lisandro Granville, Federal University of Rio Grande do Sul, Brazil

Augusto Neto, Institute of Telecommunications - Aveiro, Portugal

Marc Brogle, University of Bern, Switzerland

Yan Zhang, Simula Research Laboratory, Norway

Alexandre Fonte, Polytechnical Institute of Castelo Branco, Portugal

Jie Zhang, Beijing University of Posts and Telecommunications, PRC

Kelvin Dias, Federal University of Para, Brazil