[Date Prev][Date Next][Thread Prev][Thread Next][Date Index][Thread Index]

[PVS] AMAST'08 : Final CFP

[Apologies for multiple copies.]

   %                                                        %
   %           The 12th International Conference on         %
   %       Algebraic Methodology and Software Technology    %
   %                      AMAST 2008                        %
   %                                                        %
   %                  July 28-31, 2008                      %
   %               University of Illinois                   %
   %           Urbana-Champaign, Illinois, USA              %
   %                                                        %
   %              http://amast08.cs.uiuc.edu                %
   %                                                        %


The major goal of the AMAST conferences is to promote research towards
setting software technology on a firm, mathematical basis.  Work towards
this goal is a collaborative, international effort with contributions
from both academia and industry. The envisioned virtues of providing
software technology developed on a mathematical basis include
(a) correctness, which can be proved mathematically,
(b) safety, so that developed software can be used in the implementation of critical systems,
(c) portability, i.e., independence from computing platforms and language generations, and
(d) evolutionary change, i.e., the software is self-adaptable and evolves with the
problem domain.

The previous conferences were held in: Iowa City, Iowa, USA (1989,
1991 and 2000); Twente, The Netherlands (1993); Montreal, Canada
(1995); Munich, Germany (1996); Sydney, Australia (1997); Manaus,
Amazonia, Brazil (1998); Reunion Island, France (2002); Stirling, UK
(2004, colocated with MPC' 04); Kuressaare, Estonia (2006, colocated
with MPC '06).

Topics of interest include, but are not limited to, the following: 

- systems software technology 
- application software technology 
- concurrent and reactive systems 
- formal methods in industrial software development 
- formal techniques for software requirements, design 
- evolutionary software/adaptive systems 

- logic programming, functional programming, object paradigms 
- constraint programming and concurrency 
- program verification and transformation 
- programming calculi 
- specification languages and tools 
- formal specification and development case studies 

- logic, category theory, relation algebra, computational algebra 
- algebraic foundations for languages and systems, coinduction 
- theorem proving and logical frameworks for reasoning 
- logics of programs 
- algebra and coalgebra 

SYSTEMS AND TOOLS (for system demonstrations or ordinary papers): 
- software development environments 
- support for correct software development 
- system support for reuse 
- tools for prototyping 
- component based software development tools 
- validation and verification 
- computer algebra systems 
- theorem proving systems 


Rajeev Alur              (confirmed)
Edmund M. Clarke
Jayadev Misra            (confirmed)
Teodor Rus               (confirmed)

AMAST steering committee

Michael Johnson          Macquarie University (chair)
Egidio Astesiano         Universita degli Studi di Genova 
Robert Berwick           MIT 
Zohar Manna              Stanford University 
Michael Mislove          Tulane University 
Anton Nijholt            University of Twente 
Maurice Nivat            Universite Paris 7 
Charles Rattray          University of Stirling 
Teodor Rus               University of Iowa 
Giuseppe Scollo          Universita degli Studi di Catania 
Michael Sintzoff         Universite Catholique de Louvain 
Jeannette Wing           Carnegie Mellon University 
Martin Wirsing           Ludwig-Maximilians-Universitat Munchen 


Gilles Barthe            France  INRIA Sophia-Antipolis 
Michel Bidoit            France  INRIA Saclay - Ile-de-France 
Manfred Broy             Germany  Technische Universitat Munchen 
Roberto Bruni            Italy  University of Pisa 
Mads Dam                 Sweden  Royal Institute of Technology (KTH), Stockholm 
Razvan Diaconescu        Romania  Institute of Mathematics (IMAR) 
Jose Fiadeiro            UK  University of Leicester 
Rob Goldblatt            New Zealand  Victoria University 
Bernhard Gramlich        Austria  Vienna University of Technology 
Radu Grosu               USA  State University of New York at Stony Brook 
Anne Haxthausen          Denmark  Technical University of Denmark 
Rolf Hennicker           Germany  Ludwig-Maximilians-Universitat Munchen 
Michael Johnson          Australia  Macquarie University 
Helene Kirchner          France  INRIA Loria, Nancy 
Paul Klint               The Netherlands  CWI and Universiteit van Amsterdam 
Gary T. Leavens          USA  University of Central Florida 
Narciso Marti-Oliet      Spain  Universidad Complutense de Madrid 
Jose Meseguer (co-chair) USA  University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign 
Michael Mislove          USA Tulane University 
Ugo Montanari            Italy University of Pisa 
Larry Moss               USA  Indiana University 
Till Mossakowski         Germany  DFKI Bremen 
Peter Mosses             UK  Swansea University 
Fernando Orejas          Spain  Technical University of Catalonia, Barcelona 
Dusko Pavlovic           USA  Kestrel Institute and Oxford University 
Grigore Rosu (co-chair)  USA  University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign 
Jan Rutten               The Netherlands  CWI and Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam 
Lutz Schroeder           Germany  DFKI Bremen/Universitat Bremen 
Wolfram Schulte          USA  Microsoft Research 
Giuseppe Scollo          Italy  Universita di Catania 
Henny Sipma              USA  Stanford University 
Doug Smith               USA  Kestrel Institute 
Carolyn Talcott          USA  SRI International 
Andrzej Tarlecki         Poland  Warsaw University 
Varmo Vene               Estonia  University of Tartu 
Martin Wirsing           Germany  Ludwig-Maximilians-Universitat Munchen 
Uwe Wolter               Norway  University of Bergen 

(all at the University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign)

Jose Meseguer
Mark Hills
Grigore Rosu
Ralf Sasse


  * Submission of abstracts: 1 March 2008 
  * Submission of full papers: 8 March 2008 
  * Notification of authors: 20 April 2008 
  * Camera-ready version: 15 May 2008 


Two kinds of submissions are solicited for this conference: technical
papers and system demonstrations.  Papers may report academic or
industrial progress, and papers which deal with both are especially

Submission is in two stages.  Abstracts (plain text) must be submitted
by 1 March 2008.  Full papers (pdf) adhering to the llncs style and not
longer than 15 pages (6 pages for system demonstrations) must be
submitted by 8 March 2008.

Submissions will be open soon. 

Papers must report previously unpublished work and not be submitted
concurrently to another conference with refereed proceedings. Accepted
papers must be presented at the conference by one of the authors.

All papers will be refereed by the programme committee, and will be
judged based on their significance, technical merit, and relevance to
the conference.

The proceedings of AMAST '08 will be published in the Lecture Notes in
Computer Science series of Springer-Verlag.